Choice Music Prize shortlist announced

Choice Music Prize shortlist announced

The Choice Music Prize shortlist for Irish Album of the Year 2015, in association with IMRO and IRMA, has been announced. The overall winning Album of the Year will be selected by the judging panel at the Choice Music Prize Live Event at Vicar St, Dublin on Thursday March 3rd.

The 11th annual Choice Music Prize will once again celebrate, acknowledge & promote the best in Irish recorded music. The prize has become one of the highlights of the Irish musical calendar since its inception in 2005 and is awarded to the Irish Album of the Year, as chosen from a shortlist of ten releases by a panel of twelve Irish music media professionals and industry experts

The shortlist is as follows (artists listed in alphabetical order):

Girl Band - Holding Hands with Jamie (Rough Trade)


HamsandwicH - Stories From The Surface (Route 109A Records)

Gavin James - Bitter Pill (Warner Music Ireland)

Jape - This Chemical Sea (Faction Records)

Le Galaxie - Le Club (Universal Music Ireland)


Colm Mac Con Iomaire - And Now The Weather (Plateau)

Roisin Murphy – Hairless Toys (PIAS)

Soak – Before We Forgot How To Dream (Rough Trade)

Villagers – Darling Arithmetic (Domino)


Young Wonder – Birth (Feel Good Lost)

Tickets for the Choice Music Prize live event are on sale now from all Ticketmaster outlets and from http://www.ticketmaster.ie priced €25.50 including booking fee.

The winning act will receive €10,000, a prize fund which has been provided by the Irish Music Rights Organisation (IMRO) and the Irish Recorded Music Association (IRMA). All of the shortlisted acts will receive a specially-commissioned award, courtesy of IMRO and IRMA. Culture Ireland will fund the attendance of key overseas delegates at the event while RAAP and Music Week are also official project partners. HMV are the official Retail Partners of the Choice Music Prize.

Past recipients include:
2005: Julie Feeney - 13 Songs (Julie Feeney)
2006: The Divine Comedy - Victory for the Comic Muse (Parlophone)
2007: Super Extra Bonus Party - Super Extra Bonus Party (Alphabet Set)
2008: Jape - Ritual (Co-op Records)
2009: Adrian Crowley - Season of the Sparks (Chemikal Underground)
2010: Two Door Cinema Club – Tourist History (Kitsune)
2011: Jape – Ocean of Frequency (Music Is For Losers)
2012: Delorentos – Little Sparks (Delo Records)
2013: Villagers – {Awayland} (Domino)
2014: The Gloaming - The Gloaming (Real World)