Beat 102-103 South East Sports Star Awards

    Beat 102-103 South East Sports Star Awards

    Congratulations to Waterford athlete Kate Veale!

    She has been voted the Beat 102-103 South East Sports Star for September.

    This follows her win in the Netherlands at the Benelux Cup sprint race walking festival there.

    Wins in the 1,000m, 1,500m and 3,000m secured the top prize.

    Kate’s time of 12.56.98 in the 3,000m is a Dutch record at that distance.

    You can now nominate your favourite sports star for the October award. Email [email protected]




    January: Presentation Convent, Clonmel – All Ireland Spikeball Champions

    February joint winners: Waterford’s Craig Breen and Kilkenny’s Marble City Hawks

    March: Wexford Wanderers RFC – Leinster League Division 2B winners

    April: Tramore AFC U18’s – FAI Youth Cup Champions

    May: Kilkenny pentathlete Arthur Lanigan O’Keefe

    June: World karate champion David Gahan from Waterford.

    July: Irish Superbike Champion Richie Ryan from Kilkenny

    August: European bronze medalist Thomas Barr from Waterford.



    The annual South East Sports Star Awards are the region’s biggest sports awards. Now in its 10th year, the awards recognise and celebrate the achievements of sports stars across the South East region.

    Every month we ask sports fans to nominate a person or a club who they think are deserving of a monthly award. All you need to do is email [email protected] with a few lines about the person or team and why you think they deserve an award. A awards committee gathers all the nominees together and select five to go forward to the public vote – one from each South East county. The vote takes place on this very page for one week, and then the winner is announced on Beat Breakfast on the Friday morning of voting week. He, she or they then become a monthly winner of the South East Sports Star Award!

    While these are first and foremost a public vote, the committee can on occasion name joint monthly winners to highlight two achievements that are equally deserving of recognition.

    All these monthly nominations and awards lead up to the big event, the annual South East Sports Star Awards Night. Every monthly winner receive their awards on the night, and they are also the nominees for the South East Sports Star of the Year Award, which will be announced by our special guest MC and judging panel.


    2017: Billie Maher

    2016: Thomas Barr

    2015: Craig Breen

    Craig Breen Packie Bonner

    2014: Thomas Barr

    Thomas Barr Brent Pope

    2013: Niamh Briggs

    Niamh Briggs Jason McAteer

    2010: Tipperary Senior Hurlers
    2009: Kilkenny Senior Hurlers

    2008: Wexford Youths FC
    2007: Wexford Senior Camogie Team
    2006: Kevin Doyle