Harry Arter returns to Ireland squad after 'conversation' with Roy Keane

Harry Arter returns to Ireland squad after 'conversation' with Roy Keane

Martin O'Neill has named his Republic of Ireland squad for this month's Nations League games with Denmark and Wales.

Harry Arter returns to the squad and it has been confirmed that there has been a "conversation" between him and the Republic of Ireland assistant manager Roy Keane.


However, Declan Rice is not in the squad as he mulls over his international future.


O'Neill's midfield options have been boosted by the return of Stoke winger James McClean who has recovered from his broken wrist sustained ahead of the Wales game last month

There is a first call-up for former Airtricity League Player of the Year Richie Towell while Darragh Lenihan, Derrick Williams, Greg Cunningham, Alan Browne, Shane Long, Seanie Maguire and Scott Hogan return to the squad after missing the September matches.

Martin O'Neill said: "There are one or two players we'll monitor over the next few days. Shane Long missed the last two games, he came back with his club and played a game.


"He had a reaction but has had an injection and trained the last few days."

Missing out through injury are captain Seamus Coleman (foot), Jonathan Walters (Achilles) and Stephen Ward (knee).

Christian Eriksen was omitted from the Denmark squad for the game at the Aviva, although the Spurs playmaker could be drafted in at a later date. For Wales, Gareth Bale has been included in Ryan Giggs' squad.

Republic of Ireland Provisional Squad

Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph (Middlesbrough), Colin Doyle (Hearts), Sean McDermott (Kristiansund BK)

Defenders: Cyrus Christie (Fulham), Matt Doherty (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Shane Duffy (Brighton & Hove Albion), Richard Keogh (Derby County), Ciaran Clark (Newcastle United), Kevin Long (Burnley), John Egan, Enda Stevens (Sheffield United), Darragh Lenihan, Derrick Williams (Blackburn Rovers), Greg Cunningham (Cardiff City)

Midfielders: Alan Judge (Brentford), Jeff Hendrick (Burnley), Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Alan Browne (Preston North End), Shaun Williams (Millwall), David Meyler (Reading), Harry Arter (Cardiff City*), Daryl Horgan (Hibernian), Callum O'Dowda (Bristol City), James McClean (Stoke City), Richie Towell (Rotherham United*)

Forwards: Shane Long (Southampton), Graham Burke, Callum Robinson, Sean Maguire (Preston North End), Aiden O'Brien (Millwall), Scott Hogan (Aston Villa), Ronan Curtis (Portsmouth)